Useless backs and their contribution to teaching languages

As you’ll know if you venture onto our forum at all, I’ve been mostly unable to move for the last ten days or so, thanks to a thoroughly badly-behaved back.  I’m sure there’s no particularly good time for this kind of fun and frolics, but as we inch towards testing our new video, it’s particularly frustrating for me to become a firmly blocked bottleneck!

You’d think, wouldn’t you, that I would at least spend all this enforced leisure time (lying mostly flat on my face) by thinking about language learning and having something worth saying by the time (ie now!) that I could sit for long enough to type a few paragraphs?

You’d be wrong, though.

Instead, I’ve spent most of it cheerfully popping diazepam and watching ‘Heroes’, which I missed entirely the first time round, and which turns out to get a bit same-ish after the first series.  Watching several hundred episodes a day probably doesn’t help, mind.  And, of course, I now want a super power myself – the ability to learn any language in the blink of an eye.  I just need a special injection (and to grow some ugly scales on my back, apparently) – but I hate injections, so that’s probably not going to happen.  The back can count itself lucky.

In the absence of any useful, entertaining, or irritating ideas about language learning, then, here’s a brief round-up of where we are as a company at the moment.

I’ve seen the video Ross did of Alison and Phil, and I’m delighted with it.  Ross is making a few minor changes which will be ready by tomorrow, and then next week we’ll get the marketing test structure ready – just a bit of fiddling around with how to show the video, and the ‘answer’ options to the ‘How long have they been learning?’ question, and how that flows into setting up an account on the new site and so on.

I’m also going to grit my teeth (and my back!) and do some importing of Spanish sound files into our lesson software this week – my single least favourite SaySomethingin activity!  Sadly, it has to be done, although I’m hoping very much that Hannah will be able to start to take charge of it for the Spanish lessons in the near future.

Depending on how straightforward or otherwise getting the test structure ready turns out to be (it’ll need some additions to the site, including some more specific stats reporting, which can get a bit fiddly), we might get as far as rolling out the social layer next week, too.  If not, then it’ll be September.

As well as testing the Spanish promotion, it’s also time to do some heavy duty Welsh sound file importing (did I mention that it’s my least favourite activity?!) – just 20 sessions to do (oh joy) and then we’ll be starting to scout for ‘from new’ learner guinea pigs to come and spend a couple of days with us and see if they survive.

It feels a bit like the quiet before the storm.

If the Welsh guinea pig weekends go well, I’m going to become even more obsessed with the whole idea of accelerated learning – and if the Spanish promotion stuff goes well, we might be able to start looking at actually creating some jobs, which would be fun…:-)

In the meantime, I need to find a way to mix back spasms with beatific patience.

I’ve always been rubbish at patience.

4 responses to “Useless backs and their contribution to teaching languages

  1. Ummm … well, unpatience is good thing at this matter, because you’ll “get up” from your bed faster then yu think no matter what pain is your (you say useless) back is causing. I’m familiar with that kind of things so I know this for sure …

    Pob lwc. (Srečno! (in Slovene))

    • Diolch! I think it was ‘unpatience’ put me in this situation – getting back on the exercise bike too soon after the last episode! So I’m trying to be a bit more sensible this time round…;-) Still, I can now manage to sit for an hour or so between needing to stretch, so hurray, I’m sort of back in the saddle…:-)

Leave a Reply

