Adventures in the Language Jungle

So, I realised that we’re doing a lot of very entertaining things at the moment, but I tend to use our support forum for, well, support.  Which means that apart from when I stick my head in to ask for volunteers, I don’t always do a very good job of keeping everyone up-to-date with what we’re working on.

Hence this blog, where I’m going to try and change that…:)

Right now, the most interesting things we’re working on (all of which I’ll talk about in more detail in the coming weeks and months!) are:

Our Latin course, with thanks to Miles, Laura and Huw

Our Dutch course, with thanks to Louis and Eline

Our Spanish tourist course, with thanks to Gaby and Hannah

Our website, with thanks to Jo, Ifan, Susanna and Simon – with a new social layer coming up soon, and the exciting (for me!) move to running our lesson building software online

Our partnership with http://togetherdreaming.com/ to work on courses for languages in Australia, starting with Dharawal in Sydney

And last (but certainly not least) the new version of our Welsh course…:-)

And out of all that, the two things that are making my head spin most right now are Ifan’s initial work on rebuilding our lesson software (from scratch!) to run online, and the tests we’re running on accelerated learning.

I’m particularly delighted that Ali (a survivor of our very first Bootcamp!) and Phil have volunteered to be guinea pigs for our new test with the Spanish tourist course – they’re going to do all five sessions in an afternoon and then be filmed in a Spanish restaurant in Cardiff using ONLY Spanish – I can’t wait to see the results…:-)

I’m going to try and dig out a few minutes most days to add stuff in here – I will tend to waffle vaguely about whatever is on my mind at any given moment, but if there’s anything in particular you’d like to hear more about, just let me know in the comments…:-)

4 responses to “Adventures in the Language Jungle

  1. Good idea! I think this is a useful addition to all the other facets of SSi… (Tried to “like” but it just doesn’t seem to recognize that I did.)

    • Diolch yn fawr…:-) Odd about the ‘like’ – worked okay on my test – boo to computers.

  2. Also tried to ‘like’ but no response….have left message on FB for you. Congratulations Aran on another excellent (ad)venture.

    • Why thank you, Menna…:-) I hope it will be interesting for all the people who want to know what’s going on…:-)

Leave a comment